Fellowships Winners

Terence Kissack was awarded the
Monette-Horwitz Prize for his dissertation,
“Anarchism and the Politics of
Homosexuality.” Kissack defended the dissertation
at the The Graduate Center, CUNY in the Fall
of 2003 and is currently revising the
manuscript for publication. His work has
appeared in the Radical History Review, the
Journal of the History of Sexuality, and the
Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era.
He is currently serving as Executive Director of
the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender
Historical Society (www.glbthistory.org).
Sean Massey received an honorable
mention for his dissertation in psychology,
completed at the The Graduate Center, CUNY,
“Polymorphous Prejudice: Liberating the
Measurement of Heterosexuals’ Attitudes
Toward Lesbians and Gay Men.”
The Paul Monette – Roger Horwitz
Dissertation Prize, which honors the memories
of Monette, a poet and author, and his
partner, Horwitz, an attorney, is given by
CLAGS each year for the best dissertation in
LGTBQ Studies by a Ph.D. candidate within
the City University of New York system.
Jamison Green’s book Becoming A Visible
Man (Vanderbilt University Press, 2004) has
been awarded the Sylvia Rivera Prize for 2004.
Green is currently board chair of Gender
Education and Advocacy, a nonprofit
educational corporation, and a board member
of the Transgender Law and Policy Institute
and the Harry Benjamin International Gender
Dysphoria Association. He is also a member of
the Human Rights Campaign Business Council
and a newly elected board member of The
Equality Project. Green is an internationally
respected leader within the transgender
movement and has been featured in eight
documentary films and numerous articles and
books. He can be contacted at
The Drag King Anthology was recognized
with an honorable mention. The book was
edited by Donna Jean Troka, Kathleen
Lebesco and Jean Noble and published by
the Haworth Press in 2003.
The Sylvia Rivera Award in Transgender
Studies honors the memory of Rivera, a
transgender activist, and is given each year for
the best book or article to appear in
transgender studies.